The Museum is open to the public from June 24- September 30
June and September hours 1:30-3:30
July and August hours 11:30-3:30
The Monhegan Museum displays a wide variety of exhibits relevant to the natural, social, industrial, cultural, and artistic history of Monhegan. It is the creation of many dedicated volunteers with a commitment to preserving, documenting, and exhibiting materials that convey the unique and appealing life of Monhegan Island.
Housed at the historic Monhegan Light Station and at the house and studio built by Rockwell Kent and later occupied by James Fitzgerald, the collection has 1300 works done by artists who have been coming to the island for over 150 years. The art colony has included artists from nearly every movement in American art. Among them are George Bellows, Alfred Bricher, Lynne Drexler, Charles Ebert, Robert Henri, Edward Hopper, Eric Hudson, John Hultberg, Louise Nevelson, Edward Redfield, Aaron Draper Shattuck, Alice Stoddard, Andrew Winter, and Andrew Wyeth. (source: The Maine Art Museum Trail).